h1

Bracing the Self

January 26, 2014

I think most of the inhabitants of North America would agree -

Winter is absolutely whack-a-doo this year.

The change from warm, sunny days to a thirty-degree-ice-rain-of-death day was almost too much for this poor Texan to handle.

My husband and I stayed home from work on Friday during Icemageddon. He played computer games, while I was chained to the kitchen table, participating in a work-related conference call.

Skeleton Sketch

That went well.

Beignet kindly kept me company during the day. I’ll admit, working from home is so much better with a warm, fuzzy dog near your feet.

And a Keurig brewer ten steps away.

Work Buddy

I haven’t been really feeling myself lately. I’ve been extremely tired during the day, despite a solid eight to nine hours of sleep each night.

And then there’s the brain fuzz*. Do you know the sensation of one of your limbs “falling asleep”? Imagine that sensation in the brain.

*I may have accidentally locked Beignet in the garage for fifteen minutes this morning. Gah. Sometimes I am the worst parent ever.

Maybe it really is the weather. Maybe not.

But this I know – Cookies heal the soul.

So, I made two batches: snickerdoodle and sugar with sprinkles.

Cookies

Both of these cookies areĀ phenomenal, especially with a small glass of cold milk.

Cookies and Milk

Armed with these cookies and a fresh carton of milk, Jason and I are bracing for the next cold front due Tuesday. I can only hope the cookies hold out.

One comment

  1. Please verify for Will Slaton that snickerdoodles are not half snickers, half doodles. He was astonished (and, needless to say, disappointed) to discover this on Friday when Azida brought some to the dept meeting.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

