h1

Gonna Roast a Chicken

January 26, 2014

Places, Everybody!

Okay, so the title of the song is actually “Gonna Stuff a Chicken,” but there’s gonna be no stuffin’ chickens here. It would be… unsouthern.

Jason and I have been on a roast-chicken-kick for a few months now, and unfortunately for him, this song gets sung in our home every time.

“Gonna roast a chicken…”

He seems to handle it pretty well.

“Like my mama taught me!”

At least he hasn’t cracked in front of me. Not yet anyway.

You know what really irks me though? Roast chicken has a rep of being so difficult to prepare. Puh-lease! How hard is it to slap a bird with butter, shove a lemon up its butt, and throw it in the oven?

I blame this article from Glamour. The perfect roast chicken recipe to spur your guy to propose?! That’s a lot of pressure on a chicken!

No wonder those roast chickens from the grocery store are so popular…

I like Martha Stewart’s Perfect Roast Chicken recipe, but I’ll admit, I’ve never made it to the gravy in Step 4. All bets are off once this bird is out of the oven, especially when you live with the ultimate chicken connoisseur*.

*I had to drag so-called connoisseur away from a 10-lb. bag of chicken wings at the grocery store today.

The great thing about this recipe is that it allows for lots of freedom. Sage (my favorite!) and rosemary are amazing additions to the four sprigs of thyme.  Also, there are no rules against sprinkling chopped herbs over the buttered skin with the [kosher] salt and [fresh ground] pepper prior to roasting. It just makes the skin that more delectable.

Roast Chicken Prep

[roast chicken prep]

And no, I didn’t use 2 tablespoons of butter to coat the skin prior to roasting. Of course not. I used 1/4 cup or 1/2 a stick.

According to Martha, the chicken is done when the breast registers 180 degrees Fahrenheit, and the thighs 190 degrees Fahrenheit. I wrap aluminum foil around the wings and drumsticks during the roasting process when the skin starts crisping too much.

Perfect Roast Chicken

And ta-da! Roast chicken!

Please don’t make fun of my trussing skills.

Leave a Reply

